

Date: 24 March 2023

PO Box Q1052 Queen Victoria Building Sydney NSW 1230 Australia

To: Senator the Hon Penny Wong Minister for Foreign Affairs Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600

Re: Magnitsky Sanctions

## ICJ GENEVA

Dear Minister

The International Commission of Jurists (Australian Section) congratulates you upon the announcement on 10 December 2022 of the imposition by Australia of sanctions upon six Iranian individuals and two Iranian entities and seven Russians under the *Autonomous Sanctions Act* 2011.

The ICJ (AS) fully supports the imposition of sanctions on those who have seriously abused human rights. The first announcement of sanctions was made by the former Government on 29 March 2022 and this further announcement is most welcome.

Yours faithfully

1 Conday

Nicholas Cowdery AO KC President ncowdery@optusnet.com.au

President

Prof. Robert Goldman, USA

Secretary-General

Santiago Canton

**Australian Commissioners** 

The Hon John O'Meally AM RFD
Dr Elizabeth Biok

ICJ (AUSTRALIAN SECTION)

President

Nicholas Cowdery AO KC

Vice-President

The Hon Justice Lesley Taylor Supreme Court of Victoria

Chairperson

Steve Mark AM

Secretary-General

Dr Elizabeth Biok

Treasurer

Rodney Lewis AM

STATE BRANCH PRESIDENTS

**New South Wales** 

The Hon John O'Meally AM RFD

**Northern Territory** 

Sally Gearin

Queensland

Clara Klease

Clara Klease

South Australia

The Hon Justice Bleby

Supreme Court of SA

Tasmania

The Hon Justice Alan Blow AO Supreme Court of Tasmania

Victoria

The Hon Justice Lesley Taylor
Supreme Court of Victoria

Western Australia

Adjunct Professor Greg McIntyre SC