

International Commission of Jurists

PO Box Q1052 Queen Victoria Building Sydney NSW 1230 Australia

Date: 5 May 2023

To: Hon Michael Daley MP Attorney General GPO Box 5341 Sydney NSW 2001

## Re: MINIMUM AGE OF CRIMINAL RESPONSIBILITY

Dear Attorney General

I am writing for the International Commission of Jurists (Australian Section and NSW Branch) to seek the government's view on the minimum age of criminal responsibility.

In 2019 the United Nations Committee on the Rights of the Child recommended 14 years as the minimum age. This international benchmark has been accepted by many western countries.

Various discussions have occurred within Australian jurisdictions.

The Standing Council of Attorneys-General [SCAG] commissioned a report in 2019 which was delivered in 2022 and recommended 14 years. In the absence of consensus, no action has been taken at the national level.

Most Australian jurisdictions have the age of 10 years. However, the ACT government last November announced that in 2023 it will raise the age to 12, with the intention of later going to 14.

The Northern Territory has raised the age to 12. Tasmania has left the age at 10, but removed detention before 14. Victoria has announced it will raise the age to 12.

We are interested to know what is the new NSW government's view on this matter.

Yours faithfully

Nicholas Cowdery AO KC President ncowdery@optusnet.com.au

## **ICJ GENEVA**

President Prof. Robert Goldman, USA

> Secretary-General Santiago Canton

Australian Commissioners The Hon John O'Meally AM RFD Dr Elizabeth Biok

## **ICJ (AUSTRALIAN SECTION)**

President Nicholas Cowdery AO KC

Vice-President The Hon Justice Lesley Taylor Supreme Court of Victoria

> Chairperson Steve Mark AM

Secretary-General Dr Elizabeth Biok

**Treasurer** Rodney Lewis AM

STATE BRANCH PRESIDENTS New South Wales The Hon John O'Meally AM RFD Northern Territory Sally Gearin Queensland Clara Klease South Australia The Hon Justice Bleby Supreme Court of SA Tasmania The Hon Justice Alan Blow AO Supreme Court of Tasmania Victoria

The Hon Justice Lesley Taylor Supreme Court of Victoria

Western Australia

Adjunct Professor Greg McIntyre SC